Top College News Subscribe to the Newsletter

The Racquet

Since 1910

231 & 232 Cartwright Center
1725 State St.
La Crosse, WI 54601
Editorial Office: (608) 785-8378
Business Office: (608) 785-8381


The Racquet is the official weekly newspaper of the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse. Less than a year after the La Crosse Normal School came into existence, students started publication in December 1910. The first editions were available more as bound books than as the tabloid-style newspaper it is today.

In the last 102 years, The Racquet has evolved tremendously. It has tried different-sized papers, myriad masthead layouts and font styles, and has experimented on-and-off with color.

The publication today is the product of a 40-person symphony working in concert every week. It takes an exacting combination of reporters, editors, layout people, and advertising representatives to deliver The Racquet both in print and online.

The Racquet is printed at Graphics, Inc. in Decorah, IA.

If you're interested in joining our team, as a reporter, editor, graphic designer, or advertising director, click here.

Editorial Board



Editor in Chief: Nicole Laegeler
nlaegeler@theracquet.net

News Editors: Spencer Mertes & Jordan Batchelor
news@theracquet.net

Features Editor: Annalise Falck-Pedersen
features@theracquet.net

Sports Editor: Krista Martin
sports@theracquet.net

Viewpoint (Opinions) Editor: Ashley Reynolds
viewpoint@theracquet.net

Online Editor: C-C Laukant
online@theracquet.net

Multimedia Editor: Avery Velo
photo@theracquet.net

Business Staff



Business Director: Cara Conway
cconway@theracquet.net

Advertising: sales@theracquet.net